« Back

The stages of tooth growth

September 27, 2021 12:11 pm


We have all experienced wobbly teeth that are an indication that our adult teeth are on their way. Our milk teeth fall out at various stages in our childhood and are replaced with our permanent adult teeth. This is why it is incredibly important to ensure that you are taking care of your teeth and brushing them regularly. If you are looking for a more eco friendly toothbrush then take a look at Bamboo Toothbrush UK company bambooth.com for their more sustainable options.

Image credit

Did you know that there are actually 5 stages to the development of your teeth?

Stage 1 is known as the Bud Stage. This occurs at week eight  in gestation (meaning during the eighth week of an embryo developing). This is when the upper and lower jaws are developed and cells are created to form the soft tissue that will eventually develop into a tooth.

Stage 2 is the Cap Stage where the outside layer of the tooth starts to take shape. A cap shape is developed that sits over the top of the bud. It is this cap that will eventually turn into the enamel on the outside of our teeth.

Image credit

Stage 3 is the Bell Stage. This is where the enamel that is starting to develop in the previous stage grows in the shape of a bell. This further develops the enamel layer and also creates the shape of the crown of the tooth.

Stage 4 is the Formation of the Root and the Crown. These parts of the teeth begin to develop and further strengthen the tooth structures.

Stage 5 is the Eruption Stage which is where the crown has been formed and the root is developing. The tooth then moves towards the cavity space in which it will erupt through the gum.

« Back